Wilton Rotary Club Installs Paul Burnham

The Wilton CT Rotary Club had a very successful year in their projects, community support and fundraising all year long. With all of the successes this year, one has to wonder why President Karen Strickland would want to pass the gavel at all. Still pass it she will to the well prepared hands of Incoming President Paul Burnham.

The Installation was held at the Red Barn in Westport, an excellent place that I will certainly go back to. There was a well organized program for the evening complemented with an excellent Rotary Chicken meal.

President Karen Strickland went through the long list of club accomplishments for the 2012-13 year. Incoming President Paul Burnham gave an inspiring talk on his history in Rotary and about some of his plans for the upcoming year

Incoming club officers and directors were all sworn in.

The club awarded 2 Paul Harris Awards; one to a club member and one to a community leader.  This brings the total number of Paul Harris awards by the Wilton Rotary to 64 (50 club members and 14 community leaders).

Assistant Governor John Hendrickson was on hand to make some kind remarks for Karen Strickland’s year. Karen has been president twice before and has been an Assistant Governor.

Old Saybrook Rotary Club Installation – 06-19-2013

Gerri Lewis recognizing Outgoing Keith Wescovich for hid hardwork

Gerri Lewis recognizing Outgoing Keith Wescovich for hid hardwork

The Old Saybrook Rotary Club had their installation last night at the Saybrook Point Inn, which is a picture perfect facility right on the water. The night began with a fellowship cocktail hour outside on a private deck overlooking the marina.

Incoming club officers, directors and foundation board members were all sworn in and ultimately President Keith Wescovich passed the torch to Incoming President Gerri Lewis. Outgoing President Keith and the entire Old Saybrook Rotary Club had a very successful year. Incoming President Gerri Lewis has big plans to make their club even more vibrant than it is already. This is Gerri’s second time as Club President, she has also served 3 years as an Assistant Governor and has held down many district positions.

The event also featured awarding a Paul Harris Award to Paul Moore and the swearing in of 2 new Rotarians.

Beacon Falls Rotary Installs Joe Dowdell as President

Dave Dlugos (Outgoing President) and Joe Dowdell (Incoming President)

Dave Dlugos (Outgoing President) and Joe Dowdell (Incoming President)

The Beacon Falls Rotary Club held their Passing of the Gavel ceremony picnic style this past Saturday afternoon. The abundance of fellowship and friendship combined with the lack of formality of this event gave me the distinct feeling that this group truly enjoys the company of each other and knows how to have fun.

The club took on many new projects this year and was quite successful under Dave Dlugos’s term as President. Just several years old, Beacon Falls is a small but mighty club that gets things done. Most of the club’s members are heavily involved with numerous community organizations.

President Joe Dowdell has an aggressive agenda planned for the 2013-14 year as he builds on the momentum from the current year.

Dave Dlugos will stay active with the club while taking on a new role as Assistant Governor for Area 6.

Watch for big things from the Beacon Falls Rotary Club!!

Woodbridge Rotary Installation 0n 6-14-13

New Woodbridge officers for 2013-2014

New Woodbridge officers for 2013-2014

Steven Katz (L), Bill DeRosa (R)

Steven Katz (L), Bill DeRosa (R)

On 06-14-2013 The Woodbridge CT Rotary Club swore in Co-Presidents, inducted a new member and awarded their first Business of the Year Award.

David Joel and Mary Ellen LaRocca planned a wonderful annual dinner at Carmine’s.

The club awarded it’s first Business of the Year Award which was presented by Bill DeRosa to Steven Katz, owner of Katz’s Deli.

Chris Lovejoy was inducted as the newest Woodbridge Rotarian by DG Brian Amey.

New officers for 2013-2014 were sworn in by DGE Rick Bassett:

Co-Presidents:  Carol Yingling and Buddy DeGennaro
Past President:  Anna Dickerson
Secretary:  Jan Day
Treasurer:  Ed Maloney
Sargent at Arms:  Dave Joel
Board of Directors: Robyn Reilly
Absent Directors will be sworn in at meetings: Dan Weintraub, Guy Stella, Andy Skolnick, Matthew Cummings, Tom Shernow

Woodbridge had a great year under Anna Dickerson’s Presidency, their club grew by 6 members!!