District 7980 Installs 2014-15 Rotary Leaders

Many Rotarians, friends and family members gathered at Amarante’s Sea Cliff in New Haven from all over district 7980 this past Tuesday night to participate in the annual ‘Changing of the Guard’ where Mukund Nori was inducted as the 2014-15 District Governor and the Assistant Governors and incoming Club Presidents were sworn in for their upcoming year(s) of service.

Also recognized for their significant contributions over the past 3 years were outgoing Assistant Governors: Ann Brignola (Area 5), John Hendrickson (area 2)  and Gerry Tom (Area 12).

The 2014-15 Assistant Governor Team includes:

AG Bilus Benjamin New Canaan
AG Dlugos David Beacon Falls
AG Friend Robert Madison
AG Gardner Larry Newtown
AG Coordinator Hendrickson John Westport Sunrise
AG Johnson Christopher Fairfield
AG Marshall-Day Tari Meriden
AG Marvin Gretchen Colchester
AG Morley Laureen Mystic
AG Osach Ronald New Haven
AG Pearson Patricia Orange
AG Riehl Arisleyda Stamford
AG Solomon Jack East Hampton

2014-15 Incoming Rotary Club Presidents includes:

Zinky William Ansonia
Setaro Domemic Beacon Falls
DeMarco Joseph Black Rock
Chew David Branford
Mehta Jatin Bridgeport
Schumacher David Cheshire
McLachlan Ian Chester
Onofrio Richard Clinton






Richardell Desiree Deep River
Rinaldi Cindy Derby-Shelton
Zwiebel Richard Devon
O’Boyle Kate East Haddam
Hintz Theodore East Hampton
Gravino Stacy East Haven
Ficarra Geraldine Essex
Clancy Deborah Fairfield
Parris Sally Greenwich
Lee Linda Groton
Sengstacken John Guilford
Campo Liborio Hamden
Kass Jeffrey Housatonic Valley-Greater Danbury
Kilpatrick,Jr. Samuel Ledyard
Pellegrino Ed Madison
deAngeli-Fontanez Yvonne Meriden
Witzky-Lambert Trish Middletown
Tashlein Eric Milford
Keene Dan Monroe
Navetta Kimberly Montville
Merkel John Mystic
Mauritz Cathie Naugatuck
Fjeldal Eric New Canaan
Hunter David New Haven
Schmidt C. William New London
Hoeffel Christopher Newtown
Griffiths Linda Niantic
Burns Paul North Branford
D’Ambrosia Nicholas North Haven
Cooke Christopher Norwalk
Nollman Andrew Norwich
Woyasz Jonathan Norwich Sunrise
O’Shaughnessy William Old Saybrook
Pittala Richard Orange
Vazzana Richard Ridgefield
Giustino Ron Ridgefield Sunrise
Spargo Owen Seymour-Oxford
Crawford Henry Stamford
Willner Richard Stoningtons
Gallagher Patricia Stratford
DelVecchio Karen Trumbull
Mezzanotte John Wallingford
Richard Ralph Waterbury
Church Manly Waterford
Wielk Kathleen West Haven
Lewine Steven Westport
Wong Dennis Westport Sunrise
Johnson Carol Wilton
Weintraub Daniel Woodbridge
Monteleone John Woodbury-Southbury-Middlebury

 Congratulations to Mukund, all of the AG’s and the incoming Club Presidents.







The Stoningtons Install Feng Xue Sure as President

The Stoningtons Rotary Club installed Feng Xue Sure as Club President before a crowd of about 40 at Feng and Elisa’s home this afternoon. Sara-Anne Bruno was congratulated by her club and received echoing applause for the successful year that she had a President.

The weather was perfect, the food was great and the fellowship was first class.

This is a small but mighty club that gets many things done, most of the members take on multiple roles and wear several hats. President Sure’s goal is to double membership during his term as President; he will work closely with Immediate Past President Sara to achieve his goal. DG Rick (me) volunteered himself or Gerry Tom to come to the club to induct new members as a show of support.

The Stoningtons Rotary Club are big supporters of The Rotary Foundation and awarded 4 Paul Harris Fellows today.

Watch for big things from this club as I have a feeling that they are on the cusp of something big.

Bob Galan is installed as President of Westport Sunrise Rotary

Westport Sunrise held their annual passing of the gavel as an informal changeover party at Rick & Francoise Jaffe’s home last night. It was a perfect evening for the event with great weather, fabulous fellowship and a sizable turnout.

Outgoing Club President Steve Violette recapped the many club successes over the past year and gave incoming President Bob Galan some words of encouragement. The club members congratulated Steve on the fabulous year that he had as president. President Bob gave a brief talk on the year ahead.

It was a pleasure being part of this event and having the opportunity to visit with such a wonderful group of Rotarians and family members.

Photos by Tom Lowrie

West Haven Rotary Club – Presidential Deinstallation

Outgoing West Haven President John Ambrusco and friends

Outgoing West Haven President John Ambrusco and friends

The annual passing of the gavel is a special event at the West Haven Rotary Club as the members have a rich tradition in taking great pleasure deinstalling their current president. Outgoing President John Ambrusco Jr. was deinstalled in their annual Tie Cutting Ceremony this year.

Rarely do outsiders get a glimpse at this sacred right of passage but this year the entire event was captured in videos for all of us to see.

Part I: Tie cutting ceremony

Part II: Tie cutting ceremony

Full disclosure: I grew up in West Haven and always enjoy the antics of my friends in the West Haven Club.

Looking for a great place to do a make-up? Then visit this fun bunch of Rotarians for lunch on Wednesday’s at App’s in West Haven, leave your tie home and bring plenty of $1’s for fines.

Mark Kriebel Keynote Speaker at the District Installation next Monday

PDG Mark Kriebel (District 7170)

PDG Mark Kriebel – Installation Keynote Speaker

PDG Mark Kriebel has agreed to be the keynote speaker at our District Installation on July 1st.

Mark joined Rotary in 1977 in Ebensburg, PA, and is currently a member of Endwell Rotary, where he served as President in 2001-2002 and as District Governor in 2006-2007 (District 7170). Mark has served RI as a Training Leader and a Public Image Coordinator.

Mark and Patricia met while students singing in the Ithaca College Concert Choir.In addition to music, their interests include world travel and community service. Mark has served as President of Endwell Baseball, a founding Board member of Maine-Endwell Dollars for Scholars, and is extremely active in the Boy Scouts of America, where he has served on the Board and as President of the Baden-Powell Council, President of Northeast Region Area 3, and sits on the National Council’s Executive Board of the Northeast Region. His work in scouting has earned him both the Silver Beaver and Silver Antelope Awards.Mark is a familiar voice on radio, television, in stores and “on-hold”, and, for over 25 years, has been the principal in the MUZAK franchise serving a 10 county area of New York.

I had the pleasure of meeting Mark at the International Assembly in San Diego this January and he is an engaging  speaker that will be a special treat for the event attendees.

Contact Doug Lisk to register for the District Installation on July 1st.