D7980 District Conference – Register Now get EARLY BIRD Rates

This years D7980 District Conference will be held at the Dolce in Norwalk CT from May 14 – 17th.

The lowest rates $$$ (Super Early Bird) are being extended for a short while longer so please register now by clicking here

Given that this conference is in Connecticut we will sell out of hotel rooms again, as we did last year. So be sure to register early if you are planning on staying at the Dolce. About 50% of the hotel rooms have already been reserved.

It will be a great conference that should prove to be fun and a good value as it will be held right here in our backyard of beautiful Norwalk CT.

The conference committee: Ann Brignola (Chair), Tari Marshall-Day (Event Planner), Heather Hackle (Registrar), Cheryl Smith (Co-Registrar) and the Nori’s have been carefully planning this event for a very long time.

Here is a link of the current registered attendees <click here to see list of 2015 District Conference Attendees>


Time to Ring the Bell – Thanks for a great year!!

Rick ringing the bellAt the stroke of midnight tonight the Rotary District and Club leadership all over the world change over. It’s out with the old and in with the new in grand style. Approximately 534 Rotary Districts will get new District Governors and 34,000+ Rotary Clubs will get new Presidents. We have the ultimate in term limits; 1 year and done.

One year may not seem like a great deal of time but with the several years of training leading up to the actual job and the intensive 1 year at the helm,  it is actually a pretty long haul.

We accomplished a considerable amount during this 2013-14 Rotary Year and I want to offer a big THANK YOU to the scores of people that worked so hard to help make it a tremendous success. I’m especially thankful to my wife, Jennifer Bassett, for being such a dedicated partner and good sport throughout this journey.

I was briefly temped to chronicle the long list of accomplishments for the past year but then thought that it might be easier (on you and me) to simply say that we left the district better than we found it.

As the year wraps up there is just 1 last thing to do……Ring that Bell!!

The best of luck to our incoming and future district leaders Mukund Nori (DG 2014-15), Gerry Tom (DG 2015-16) and Chris Johnson (2016-17) as well as all of the incoming Club Presidents.

Rick Bassett

DG 2013-14

District 7980 Installs 2014-15 Rotary Leaders

Many Rotarians, friends and family members gathered at Amarante’s Sea Cliff in New Haven from all over district 7980 this past Tuesday night to participate in the annual ‘Changing of the Guard’ where Mukund Nori was inducted as the 2014-15 District Governor and the Assistant Governors and incoming Club Presidents were sworn in for their upcoming year(s) of service.

Also recognized for their significant contributions over the past 3 years were outgoing Assistant Governors: Ann Brignola (Area 5), John Hendrickson (area 2)  and Gerry Tom (Area 12).

The 2014-15 Assistant Governor Team includes:

AG Bilus Benjamin New Canaan
AG Dlugos David Beacon Falls
AG Friend Robert Madison
AG Gardner Larry Newtown
AG Coordinator Hendrickson John Westport Sunrise
AG Johnson Christopher Fairfield
AG Marshall-Day Tari Meriden
AG Marvin Gretchen Colchester
AG Morley Laureen Mystic
AG Osach Ronald New Haven
AG Pearson Patricia Orange
AG Riehl Arisleyda Stamford
AG Solomon Jack East Hampton

2014-15 Incoming Rotary Club Presidents includes:

Zinky William Ansonia
Setaro Domemic Beacon Falls
DeMarco Joseph Black Rock
Chew David Branford
Mehta Jatin Bridgeport
Schumacher David Cheshire
McLachlan Ian Chester
Onofrio Richard Clinton






Richardell Desiree Deep River
Rinaldi Cindy Derby-Shelton
Zwiebel Richard Devon
O’Boyle Kate East Haddam
Hintz Theodore East Hampton
Gravino Stacy East Haven
Ficarra Geraldine Essex
Clancy Deborah Fairfield
Parris Sally Greenwich
Lee Linda Groton
Sengstacken John Guilford
Campo Liborio Hamden
Kass Jeffrey Housatonic Valley-Greater Danbury
Kilpatrick,Jr. Samuel Ledyard
Pellegrino Ed Madison
deAngeli-Fontanez Yvonne Meriden
Witzky-Lambert Trish Middletown
Tashlein Eric Milford
Keene Dan Monroe
Navetta Kimberly Montville
Merkel John Mystic
Mauritz Cathie Naugatuck
Fjeldal Eric New Canaan
Hunter David New Haven
Schmidt C. William New London
Hoeffel Christopher Newtown
Griffiths Linda Niantic
Burns Paul North Branford
D’Ambrosia Nicholas North Haven
Cooke Christopher Norwalk
Nollman Andrew Norwich
Woyasz Jonathan Norwich Sunrise
O’Shaughnessy William Old Saybrook
Pittala Richard Orange
Vazzana Richard Ridgefield
Giustino Ron Ridgefield Sunrise
Spargo Owen Seymour-Oxford
Crawford Henry Stamford
Willner Richard Stoningtons
Gallagher Patricia Stratford
DelVecchio Karen Trumbull
Mezzanotte John Wallingford
Richard Ralph Waterbury
Church Manly Waterford
Wielk Kathleen West Haven
Lewine Steven Westport
Wong Dennis Westport Sunrise
Johnson Carol Wilton
Weintraub Daniel Woodbridge
Monteleone John Woodbury-Southbury-Middlebury

 Congratulations to Mukund, all of the AG’s and the incoming Club Presidents.







District 7980 Conference & Assembly draws 455 Attendees over 3 days

Our District Conference / Assembly wrapped up this past Sunday at the Mystic Marriott in Groton. 455 attendees participated in our combined event from May 2nd – 4th  that included a community service project, a Paul Harris Luncheon, A Beatles Tribute Night, informative Plenary Sessions, A District Training Assembly, many well deserved awards and recognitions, a Kentucky Derby race with a hat contest, a House of Friendship, a 4-way test speech contest, great fellowship, fabulous food and drinks as well as an paralleled level of energy and excitement.


An event of this size and scale was a colossal undertaking which was pulled off by a pretty remarkable team that included: Jennifer Bassett, Totney Benson, Ann Brignola, Nick Casella, Nick D’Ambrosio, Chris Johnson, Jim Lang, Phoebe Leask, Doug Lisk, David Marchesseault, Mark Minotti, Mary Minotti, Dale Moore, Laureen Morley, Laima Nori, Mukund Nori, Glenn Pearson, Trish Pearson (Chair), Ellen Pollack, Julie Reppenhagen, Nancy Riella, Pat Rupwani, Jim Satterwhite, Pat Todd, Geraldine Tom, Debbie Volain, RoseMarie Bello (Conference Coordinator) … and the majority of the North Haven Rotarians!!

My sincere thanks and gratitude goes out to all of these hardworking volunteers plus the Rotary Clubs and Rotarians that not only attended the event but supported it by taking out sponsorships, donating raffle prizes, participating in the Plenary sessions and dancing up a storm during the BritishMania show.



The District Assembly Schedule is released by DGE Nori

All attendees of the combined Conference and Assembly will attend the same luncheon this Saturday from 11:45 am – 1:30 pm. The District Assembly, now called District Training Assembly (DTA) by Rotary International is being held this Saturday at the Mystic Marriott from Noon till 5pm. District Governor Elect (Incoming DG) Mukund Nori has designed a program that is sure to engage and enlighten the 350+ registered attendees.

The District Training Assembly  prepares incoming club leaders for their year in office and exposes new Rotarians to core Rotary knowledge. The Assembly is also an opportunity for club leaders to meet with district leaders (the district governor-elect, incoming assistant governors, and district committees) who will support club projects and activities.

Download the Conference Program Book by <clicking here>

District Assembly Schedule

Screenshot 2014-04-30 08.36.51